About Self

For Immediate Release
Media Contact: Amanda Brasier
Self Regional Healthcare | (864) 725-4218

Self Regional Healthcare Foundation Awards Eight Nursing Scholarships

Eight Nursing Scholarships Awarded SRHF

Members of the Mary Ella Ruff and Charlotte Blackwell Memorial Nursing Scholarship committees pose with 2015 scholarship recipients.

Pictured front row from left: recipient, McKenzie Reid, Mary Ella Ruff, Chief Nursing Operator, Linda Russell and Georgia Gillion. Pictured back row from left: Dr. Travis Stevenson, John Paguntalan, President and CEO, Jim Pfeiffer, Kaye Brock, and recipients Andrill Richard, McKayla Stevenson, Taylor Yonce and Kara Lowery.

(Greenwood, S.C., July 8, 2015) -- The Self Regional Healthcare Foundation hosted its annual nursing scholarship luncheon in June and awarded 8 scholarships for a combined amount of $8,000.

The recipients for the 2015 Mary Ella Ruff scholarships are: Kara Lowery of Due West, Crystal Nwaopara of Greenwood, McKenzie Reid of Greenwood, Leah Taylor of Gray Court and Taylor Yonce of Johnston.

The Mary Ella Ruff Nursing scholarship was established in honor of one of Self Regional Healthcare's most dedicated and influential nurses, Mary Ella Ruff, who retired in 1978 after 35 years of service. This scholarship is awarded to persons enrolled in a certified nursing program in the state of South Carolina or to practicing nurses who are advancing their professional skills. The total amount distributed for the Mary Ella Ruff Nursing Scholarship was $5,000 with each winner receiving $1,000.

The recipients for the 2015 Charlotte Blackwell Memorial Nursing scholarship are Stephanie Drake of Prosperity, McKayla Stevenson of Abbeville and Andrill Richard of Greenwood.

Since 2005, the Charlotte Blackwell Memorial Nursing Scholarship has been awarded to deserving students who wish to spend their careers at Self Regional Healthcare after completing nursing programs at Lander University or Piedmont Technical College and in 2013, an extension of the Charlotte Blackwell Memorial Nursing Scholarship was created to award a critical care nurse at Self Regional with a scholarship to help fund attendance to the annual NTI Critical Care Conference. The total amount distributed for the Charlotte Blackwell Memorial Nursing scholarship was $3,000 with each winner receiving $1,000.

The Self Regional Healthcare Foundation's scholarship program is built on community campaigns and fundraising that ensures qualified and talented individuals have the opportunity to pursue a career in healthcare.


About Self Regional Healthcare:
Self Regional Healthcare is a not-for-profit, regional referral hospital that provides care to residents of Greenwood, Abbeville, Laurens, Saluda, McCormick, Edgefield and Newberry counties. Services include prevention and wellness, acute care and tertiary care services including cancer care, neurosurgery, heart and vascular surgery, NICU and orthopedics. Self Medical Group is its employed physician affiliate network of 25 practices and more than 75 physicians.